North Atlantic Treaty Organization

The North Atlantic Council (also known as NATO) is an intergovernmental alliance concerned with military affairs. NATO implements the North Atlantic Treaty, signed in 1949. Currently, NATO is composed of 29 members. NATO’s main purpose is to safeguard the freedom and security of all its members by political and military means

In MUNOTH 2019, NATO will be an intermediate  committee and will include 28 delegates.

Would you like to be part of NATO in MUNOTH 2019? Apply via MyMun before the 23rd of March 2019!


  • The future of ISAF’s mission in Afghanistan
  • NATO’s actions in the Aegean Sea


  • Stefanos Tsakiris
  • Zuzanna Ściborska


“North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), is military alliance established by the North Atlantic Treaty (also called the Washington Treaty) of April 4, 1949, which sought to create a counterweight to Soviet armies stationed in central and eastern Europe after World War II. NATO’s military organization encompasses a complete system of commands for possible wartime use.”

– EncyclopÆdia Britannica