International Court of Justice

The International Court of Justice (ICJ), is the sole judicial organ of the United Nations. The ICJ is composed of 15 judges elected by the General Assembly for nine year terms. The sitting judges come from: Somalia, China, Slovakia, France, Morocco, Brazil, USA, Italy, Uganda, India, Jamaica, Australia, Russian Federation, Lebanon and Japan. The ICJ entertains both contentious cases and requests for advisory opinions.

In MUNOTH 2019, the ICJ will be an intermediate committee, and will have 15 members (one per judge). This committee is especially recommended to those with a background in law or an interest in it.

Would you like to be part of the ICJ in MUNOTH 2019? Apply via MyMun before the 29th of March 2019!


  • Cyprus v Turkey, the situation concerning the aftermath of the 1974 intervention
    The Republic of Cyprus has filed an application with the International Court of Justice, alleging that the military action carried out by the Republic of Turkey, beginning in July of 1974, involving the subsequent occupation of Northern Cyprus by Turkey, is in violation of the Charter of the United Nations. It has been alleged that Turkey’s actions have breached the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Cyprus, and have resulted in gross violation of the rights of its citizens. The Court has established jurisdiction under Article 36(2) of its Statute. In an effort to resolve the conflict involving Northern Cyprus, both the countries, Cyprus and Turkey, have accepted the compulsory jurisdiction of the Court.
  • Advisory opinion on intervention by invitation of opposition groups, and the existence of humanitarian grounds
    From East Asia to the Middle-East, and Africa, as the impact from ongoing civil wars continues to challenge human welfare and causes a gross violation of human rights, the international community is compelled to reassess the difference between the exercise of its responsibility to protect, and the use of force that shall breach the territorial sovereignty of a fellow state. The United Nations Security Council, has therefore, submitted a question to the International Court of Justice, concerning the legitimacy of an intervention that were to be carried out upon the invitation of a group or agent, that serves as an opposition to the government in control of state machinery. The intervention is to be carried out by a state, in response to the humanitarian situation persisting in another state, but upon the active invitation of an opposition group. The Court shall proceed to provide its advisory opinion in this context.


  • Nur Ayca Demir 

    “Distinguished participants of MUNOTH 2019, my name is Ayça Demir. I will be serving as one of the chairs for International Court of Justice in this year’s edition of Model United Nations of The Hague. I am from Istanbul, Turkey and currently a first year in Leiden University College The Hague. I have been doing Model UN since 2013, and have been taking different roles from organisational positions to academic. I am delighted to have a chance to meet you all, and it will be my greatest pleasure to help you acquire a great experience in this year’s MUNOTH.”

  • Parthabi Kanungo 

    “Parthabi is in the first year of her Bachelour in European Law at Maastricht University, in the Netherlands. Hailing from India, she had been a part of the East India MUN Circuit for four years, before relocating for her studies.The very first MUN that she attended was in her hometown of Bhubaneswar, while she was a ninth grader. The concept of students coming together on a platform, to resolve seemingly complex global conflicts, through the tools of deliberation and negotiation, is what appeals to her the most, about MUNs.

    Intending to specialise in international humanitarian law, she understands of the significance that diplomacy holds, especially under an evolving world order. She is a proponent of the view that the resilience of students, developed through MUNs, has the collective capacity of impacting real-world changes in the future. A trilingual with a strong affinity to her Indian values, she carries with her a flair of cultural contrast. Her other areas of interest include content development, debating, and academic research.”

Schermafbeelding 2019-03-26 om 18.09.01

“The International Court of Justice (ICJ) is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations (UN). It was established in June 1945 by the Charter of the United Nations and began work in April 1946.

The seat of the Court is at the Peace Palace in The Hague (Netherlands). Of the six principal organs of the United Nations, it is the only one not located in New York (United States of America).

The Court’s role is to settle, in accordance with international law, legal disputes submitted to it by States and to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by authorized United Nations organs and specialized agencies.”

–  International Court of Justice